Comments · 4193 Views

1. Sweden's Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo could become the first players to score in four different European Championships. Both forwards have scored goals in the EuroCup in 2004, 2008 and 2012 and are now tied with Jürgen Klinsman, Vladimir Schmitser, Th

2. Since EuroCup 1984, UEFA has abolished the "small final", so third place will go to the two teams that lost in the semi-finals.

3. So far, not a single player has managed to make "poker" in one match of the European Championship. Michel Platini is so far the only player to have two hat-tricks in one tournament (1984). Dieter Müller, Klaus Alofs, Marco Van Basten, Patrick Kluivert, Sergio Conceisau and David Villa each have one.

4. Vicente Del Bosque is the only coach to have won the European Championship (2012), the World Cup (2010) and the Champions League (1999/2000 and 2001/2002) in his career.

5. The Netherlands is the only country to have won in the same year at both club and national team levels. "Orange" in 1988 won the Euro in Germany, and PSV - the European Cup. Recall that the Dutch did not make it to Euro 2016.

6. Almost all previous European champions had national coaches at the head of the teams. The exception is Greece, which in 2004 became the strongest in the Old World, led by the German Otto Rehagel.

7. Czechoslovakia became the European champion in 1976, and after the collapse of this state, the title was inherited by the Czech Republic. Did you know that 8 of the 11 players who started then were from Slovakia and only three were from the Czech Republic.

8. The biggest sensation was at one time the Luxembourg team. At Euro 1964, in the 1/8 finals, she defeated the Netherlands in the sum of two meetings (1:1, 2:1), and in the quarterfinals she lost to Denmark only in an additional match - 3:3, 2:2, 0:1.

9. The trophy, which is awarded to the winner of the European Championship, bears the name of Henri Delaunay and is the property of UEFA. According to the rules of the tournament, the champion is awarded the cup and keeps it until the draw for the qualifying tournament of the next European Championship. A copy of the trophy is given to the eternal safekeeping of the federation, whose team will win the tournament five times in total, or three times in a row. So far, neither one nor the other team has been able to do it. The Spanish national team, which won the European Championships in 2008 and 2012, is closest to such an achievement.

10. Until 1976, only four teams participated in the final tournament, which got there after passing several qualifying rounds. Since 1980, the number of participants has increased to eight, since 1996 to 16, and the current Euro is the first in which 24 teams will play.

11. Fernando Torres is the only player to score in two European Championship finals (2008 and 2012).

12. Tournament hosts haven't been playing very well lately. Since 1996, only three of the last eight countries to host the continental championship have made it past the group stage: England in 1996, Holland in 2000 and Portugal in 2004. The co-organizers of the last two championships - Austria and Switzerland in 2008 and Poland and Ukraine in 2012 finished the tournament at the group stage.

13. France's 14 goals in Euro 1984 remains the most by a single team in the tournament.

14. Spain leads the longest unbeaten streak in European Championship finals. "Red Fury" has not lost for 12 matches in a row (9 wins and 3 draws). The last time the Spaniards were defeated in the group stage of Euro 2008, losing to Portugal (0:1).

15. Goalkeeper Iker Casillas will become the first player to play in five European championships. The debut took place in 2000.

16. The Dutchman Jetro Willems is the youngest football player to take part in the match of the final tournament of the European Championship. In 2012, the defender played with Denmark at the age of 18 years and 71 days. Switzerland player Johan Vonlanthen became the youngest scorer in the history of the European Championships. At the 2004 European Championships, he scored a goal against the French national team at the age of 18 years 141 days.

17. Only three players can boast a double in the final match of the European Championship. And all of them are Germans: Gerd Müller scored two goals for the USSR in 1972, Horst Hrubesh in 1980 for Belgium and Oliver Bierhoff in 1996 for the Czech Republic.

18. Lars Lagerbeck will be the first coach to lead the national team at four European Championships. For the first three times, the specialist led the Czech team, and at the current Euro, Lagerbeck is the head coach of the Icelandic team.

19. Srecko Katanec is the youngest coach of the European Championships. He started Euro 2000 with Slovenia at the age of 36 years and 333 days. The oldest European coach Giovanni Trapattoni, who coached Ireland at the last European Championship in 2012, was 73 years and 93 days old at the time of the team's last match in the tournament.

20. Berti Vogts is the only one who can boast of being a European Champion as a player and as a coach. If the French team wins the current Euro tournament, Didier Deschamps can join it.